Matt Whaley Scholarship Award

Matt was born on November 12, 1974 in Cambridge, Massachusetts a short distance from both Harvard University and M.I.T. He came home from the hospital with his mother Millie a dedicated housewife to his father Michael an accountant and his two older sisters, Dawn and Leslie.

Matt graduated Concord-Carlisle High School in 1993 and headed for the “West” and the University of Arizona. While in high school, Matt in addition to his academic achievements played on the football team, the track team and the fencing team. While at U of A , Matt became involved in several activities his most important being his brotherhood at Kappa Sigma; however he still found time to do community service work by assisting at some local Tucson elementary schools and being deeply involved with the escort services on campus.

Matt was a collector all his life, collecting everything from first edition comic books to swords and knives to pewter dragons. Matt was a devoted Boston Bruins fan and even had their logo tattooed to his chest. Matt liked tall thin blonds, brunettes and red heads and more than an occasional good cigar with a Bombay sapphire martini. Matt liked fast cars and motorcycles, his favorite being his black corvette.

Matt was always generous to his friends and his ‘Brothers,’ Matt was always willing to drive ‘Brother,’ help him move, buy him a meal, help him study or just listen to him.

Matt was troubled by constant stomach problems and being away from home saw several different doctors in California and Arizona several of whom gave differing prescriptions which we feel may have had serious adverse impact on Matt. Matt died on the U of A Campus on September 20, 1997 and is missed everyday by all who were lucky enough to know him. On Matt’s footstone are engraved the “Star and Crescent” and the letters “AEKDB” and with him lies the pledge pins of his Kappa Sigma ‘Brothers.’

He is truly a loved son and brother to his extended family both in Massachusetts and in Arizona.

The Matt Whaley Scholarship Award is awarded to members based on their response in a written essay. The theme of the essay changes from year to year based on what the important topic is at the time.


Ryan Schneider ’93
Andrew Lowden ’95
Rob Meadows ’95
Craig Lowden ’96
Dan Van Cuyk ’96
Josh Bowie ’97
Michael Lees ’97
Jesse Todd ’98
Jim Croke ’99
Christian Dix ’00
Tim Laskoski ’00
Josh Surridge ’00
Nat Williams ’00
David Gosselin ’01
Branden Lombardi ’01
Michael Daugherty ’02
Matt Harper ’02
Garrick Keatts ’02
Blake Diers ’03
Tim Vega ’03
Tim Laskoski
Stephen Tanenbaum
Nick Madrid ’02
Jordan Bradfield
Daniel Feldman ’06
Scott Nugent ’06
Kyle Simmons ’06
Jon Wolfert ’03
Jeremy Squire
Brad Thomas ’06
Nic Martino ’13
Dylan Courtney ’13
Hayden Baird ’15

This roster is incomplete and missing the names of award recipients, please send us a message with any additions or corrections.