Don Harris Outstanding Pledge Award

Donald Harris was born in Brooklyn, New York on July 20, 1938. He is a graduate of Phoenix College where he lettered in football and baseball.

Don came to the University of Arizona where he was initiated into the Gamma-Rho chapter in 1959. He graduated from the U of A with a Bachelor of Arts in 1960 and went on to earn his LL.B. in 1963.

In September 1961, Brother Harris was commissioned as a 2nd Lieutenant in the United State Marine Corps. He served in Vietnam from 1965-1966 and was promoted to Captain. He received a Navy Commendation Medal for his service as a Civil Affairs Officer Third Marine Division I Corps, Republic of South Vietnam.

Don has served as a Maricopa County attorney (1976) and as a Paradise Valley judge from 1991-1996. In 1997, Brother Harris served as Judge Pro-Tem for the Maricopa County Superior Court.

Don is the President of the Scottsdale Artists School Board of Trustees in Phoenix and is also on the Kappa Sigma National Board of Trustees. He serves on the Board of Trustees for the Temple Beth Israel in Phoenix and has served as a Captain with the Israeli Defense Forces in Gaza (2003).

Brother Harris has been named Gamma-Rho Man of the Year, is an inductee in the Gamma-Rho Hall of Fame was awarded the John Tower Alumni of the Year Award. He has served on the Housing Corporation Board for 17 years. In 2004, the Commandant of the Marine Corps presented Don with the Order of the Caribao, a military honor. Don was named an Honorary U of A Varsity Letterman in 1997 and he is also a 32nd Degree Freemason and a Shriner.

Brother Harris is the father of Courtenay Harris Black, David Harris and the grandfather to Jonah Black, Hannah Harris and another little girl due in November.

The Don Harris Outstanding Pledge Award is awarded to the pledge who has shown the most dedication and leadership during their pledgeship.


Ragnar Rasmussen ’91
Ryan Schneider ’93
Scott Gossett ’94
Morgan Logue ’95
Fritz Ronnau ’95
Craig Lowden ’96
Joe Everson ’97
Mike Chandler ’98
Steve Leone ’99
Luke Leifeld ’00
Brett Gersen ’01
Craig Murphy ’01
Mike Berlin ’02
Mike Tankenoff ’03
Nilo Larriva ’04
Rhys Stoner ’04
Danny Treibatch
Mike Lewis
Collin Ferreira ’06
Guy Cohen
Danny Neuman
Harrison Pinkus ’08
Ian Stuart ’08
Jordan Blancarte ’08
Holden Havlick ’13
Sam Guterman ’13
Matt Abbate
Ryan Fitzpatrick
Arden May
Sam Harris

This roster is incomplete and missing the names of award recipients, please send us a message with any additions or corrections.